Just when I thought Beer two was ready to bottle, I came back today and the top was bulging again. Hydrometer reads 1020 so it’s still quite far from the 1012. It’s just 5 days so I’m going to leave it for two more.

Beer one’s bottles are ready to be moved though! After 5 days they should be moved from their normal room temperature location to somewhere cooler for a week. Two have been moved immediately to the fridge – I don’t think they’ll last the night :) Well, I have to monitor how the beer is coming along, don’t I? For educational purposes.

I’m full of experimental idea for Beer two. I plan to bottle half and then experiment with the rest. Originally I thought of dry hopping with Cascade but after reading around I came up with the idea of using orange peel instead as a dry hop – as is used in my favourite Japanese beer:

Hitachino Nest – White Ale

A refreshing mildly hopped Belgian styled beer with a complex flavor of coriander, orange peel, nutmeg. White Ale has won gold medals at several beer conpetition in U.K. and U.S. This is definitely one of HITACHINO’s top-selling beers both in Japan and U.S.

Malts: Pilsner, Wheat
Hops: Perle, Strian Goldings
Adjuncts: Coriander, Orange peel, Nutmeg
Original Gravity: 1052
Alcohol Vol: 5.0%
IBU: 13
Color: Light Golden
Package Format:
Japan – 330ml & 720ml bottles, Various size of Kegs
U.S.A. – 11.2oz bottles & 30L Kegs

I missed adding orange and coriander at the beginning of Beer two but it can be added after fermentation is finished for a week to give a similar fruity flavour, I’ve read. On the way home I bought coriander seeds, nutmeg, and Japanese bitter oranges, but alas, I can’t do it tonight. Need to wait some more!

