Front

Front

Tap

Tap

Inside

Inside

Inside

Inside

Back

Back

Details

Details

I’ve had a hard time finding a fridge which will fit two kegs and a CO2 tank – and even if I did find one, I’d need to pay 10,000+ yen delivery. At 17,800 yen + 11,200 yen delivery + quite possibly tax and auction fees, this is a bit more than I wanted to spend – but isn’t it fantastic? And it should hold it’s value – I should be able to pass it on when I leave Japan.

It’s a commercial unit. The inside is 39cm wide x 48cm deep x 90+ cm high – easily enough for two kegs and a CO2 tank (the shelf inside is removable). It includes a regulator and a connector for local beer (I wanted one of those anyway) and although there’s only one tap, I’m sure I’ll fix that over time! Quite possibly I could get 4 x 3 gallon kegs in this, maybe 5.

Beer servers usually get bid up into the 30,000 yen+ range at the moment. I got lucky – this wasn’t in the beer server category on Yahoo auctions, which means that I didn’t have anyone bidding against me. A good tip for using Yahoo auction for anything beer server related is to search for ビールサーバー and ビールディスペンサー instead of using the categories. This returns a lot more. In exchange for this tip, don’t bid against me please! If you see an id starting “em_” as the bidder, that’s me – so hold your bidding!

Not brewing beer to buying kegs and a kegerator in exactly 6 weeks – is that a record for anyone? ;)

