…this man needs a plan!

Last night I bottled Beer seven (Green Scottish West Coast Flasher IPA) and Beer nine (Mini IPA), leaving Beer twelve (Chocolate-less Coffee Stout Experiment) because the gravity was a little above where it should be – as it has only been in for 6 days I thought I’d give it some breathing space. As I said yesterday, Flasher hit its FG exactly; I didn’t measure the FG of Mini IPA because there’s so little of it.

I now have three free buckets. It’s a joy to see them – all waiting to be filled with lovely beer! Today I’ll receive a delivery from Advance Brewing which includes:

6kg of American 2-row
4kg of German Weyermann Wheat malt
1kg of German Weyermann Munich
1.5kg of German Weyermann Pilsner
1kg of UK Chocolate
0.6kg each of C40 and C15
0.3kg each of C150, Flaked Rye, Flaked Oat, Flaked barley
200g Saaz pellets (I’ll need more Saaz than I currently have if I’m to make pilsners over the summer)

I didn’t have exact recipes in mind when ordering these – I did the order before leaving for the airport when I was in Korea because I knew I needed o-rings, and decided to add some grain to bring it over the free delivery limit. As it turned out Advance Brewing screwed up the delivery date and didn’t have all the o-rings in stock, so I may as well have just waited till I came back.

In retrospect – now that I have researched recipes – it would have been good if I’d ordered some C60, C75, and extra flaked rye, etc. Still, at least I have grain to get creative with!

This is what I’m thinking of:

1. A 3 US Gallon version of the Lagunitas IPA clone mentioned in this podcast from Jamil. The 6 US Gallon recipe given in the podcast has an OG of 1.060 and IBU of 46.8 according to Jamil. When I plug it into online calculators, I get the same OG but an IBU of 37 – I’ve tried different calculators and get the same result, so Jamil must be using different utilisation values for the hops.

I feel 1.060 is going to be a bit light for an IPA and I want something stronger so the version I’m working on is a 3 US Gallon recipe with an OG of 1.076 and an IBU of 40 (from the same calculators that gave 37). I’m keeping this as a 3 gallon version because (a) it is experimental, and (b) it made it easier to work out the hops (The original recipe is based on a boil size around the same at the batch size. I can’t do a 6G boil so I would need a 3G boil with 6G batch, which would have meant scaling up the hops because of the higher gravity 3G boil – too risky.)

2. Two 3 US Gallon white ales. Both will have wheat and pale malt. One will have flaked rye added to the mash; the other will use orange peel, coriander, and nutmeg. Both will use a Belgian yeast. I only have one pack of the yeast, hence splitting the batch – 3G also is better matched to the small amount of rye I have. Will be fun to compare these – Rye vs Spice.

3. A porter, and all grain bitter, and a pilsner. I’ve not even thought of recipes yet – whether or not the porter and bitter are possible depends on the weather. The porter will most likely include the oats and/or barley.

The weather is getting hotter in Japan so I want to start these as soon as I can, while my hallway is still around 24-26. The Lagunitas IPA will be first since I’ve almost finished the recipe.

