Fermentation chamber plan

Fermentation chamber plan

Yesterday I was thinking about getting a freezer to use as a fermentation chamber, but after reading about Frankenfridge on Lost in Fermentation, and these sites, I’ve come up with a better plan. Meet: The Alien Pod fermentation chamber.

Under the top of my kegerator, there’s a tube which extends down into the fridge. The plan is to add some duct tubing with a fan in the middle to feed the fermentation chamber. The fan will be connected to a temperature controller – probably the ND-610.

Kegerator tube

Kegerator tube

I’ll run a small tube back into the side of the kegerator – again there’s conveniently a hole already there (it’s currently blocked with a rubber stopper).

If I want to ferment lager, I can use one of my fridges – I’m only interested in getting to 19 degrees to ferment ale. That should be manageable with this setup.

Now all I need to do is work out whether it is feasible to build! I don’t have any tools, and I don’t yet know whether to get the duct tube or return tube.

