It’s likely there will be a number of brewing equipment related posts the next couple of weeks – I’ve already bought a thermostat to make a fermentation chamber; yesterday I followed that up with the purchase of a water filter and a 35L brew pot (below, on the right).

28L and 35L brew pots

28L and 35L brew pots

There’s a lot of debate about aluminium vs steel. This page is a pretty good reference. The main points are that I can’t use oxiclean and I need to build up a “passive oxide layer” before using the kettle for the first time:

For new pots, this is easily achieved by either boiling the pot full of water for 30 mins to one hour, or by putting it in your oven for 10 mins at 350 F.

Over the next two weeks I will hopefully complete the following:

  1. Fermentation chamber
  2. Immersion chiller
  3. Mash tun

I have already bought the hose fittings for the immersion chiller and I’m currently researching the copper. For the fermentation chamber, I should hopefully be picking up a mini-bar fridge tonight, and I have a plan so cunning you could bottle it and call it “foxy beer”.

More on these three projects in the next two weeks – if I can get my act together to complete them in that timeframe! Until then, here are some other goodies I found at Super Viva Home in Toyosu.

Copper - 10m of 9.52mm is 5,450yen (I'm currently looking for the larger 12.7mm size)

Copper - 10m of 9.52mm is 5,450yen (I'm currently looking for the larger 12.7mm size)

Every time I phoned to ask about coils of copper, I was always told "We don't sell them". This is to remind me of the jargon they use because "copper pipe" doesn't get you anywhere!

Every time I phoned to ask about coils of copper, I was always told "We don't sell them". This is to remind me of the jargon they use because 'copper pipe' doesn't get you anywhere!

Copper bends

Copper bends

Duct pipe - 75mm diameter, 1.5m long for 600yen

Duct pipe - 75mm diameter, 1.5m long for 600yen

Styrofoam galore - 182x91x5cm is 1,750 yen

Styrofoam galore - 182x91x5cm is 1,750 yen

5 gallons, insulated, 7,000 yen - if I didn't have a plan already, I'd get one of these to ferment in

5 gallons, insulated, 7,000 yen - if I didn't have a plan already, I'd get one of these to ferment in

This baby on the left is stainless steel inside - another possibility for fermenting. (As an aside, I have a water tank similar to the one on the right which cost me around 600yen.)

This baby on the left is stainless steel inside - another possibility for fermenting. (As an aside, I have a water tank similar to the one on the right which cost me around 600yen.)

The inside is even marked with 12L and 15L markings

The inside is even marked with 12L and 15L markings

Water filters galore...

Water filters galore...

...including this one that removed chlorine, lasts for over 6 months, and simply screws on my tap - all for 980yen

...including this one that removed chlorine, lasts for over 6 months, and simply screws on my tap - all for 980yen

Some exceedingly large and cheap coolers

Some exceedingly large and cheap coolers

The P-100 ring is very similar in size to a keg o-ring - I might bring a lid next time and see how good the match is

Potential cheap o-ring replacement? The P-100 ring is very similar in size to a keg o-ring - I might bring a lid next time and see how good the match is

