Yesterday I wrote a post about my visit to Kanda, but afterwards I decided to pull it. Apologies to all who clicked on the link and found nothing.

Why did I pull it? If you’ve been following my twitter you will know. Quite simply, the guy running JHA bar is a cunt – refusing to serve us any food for no reason. Rather than having a detailed writeup of why he is a cunt on my blog, I just want to say that and leave it at that. I can’t remove JHA from Boozelist because it isn’t under my control, but I certainly will never be going there again, and I’m not including JHA on my Tokyo Beer Map.

Here’s the rest of the post on the other two places:

Next stop was KuraKura. It took us a while to find it – I’m not the best at navigating when famished – and when we got there all the tables were packed. The owner, in between rushing around, pointed to a high table and said we could stand there and drink. “Can we order food also?” I tentatively asked, dreading that he’d say no. “Sure,” he replied.

Completely different attitude to the asshole at JHA.

The menu at KuraKura

The menu at KuraKura

10 craft beers on the menu plus Hoegaarden and Ebisu. Quite expensive though – while there are some other places that charge more for a half pint, most of them offer the option of a full pint, which is a tad more economical. The Coconut Porter, for example, would be 1640yen a pint based on two half pints.

IPA and Isakedoya pale ale were both nice and hoppy. Coconut porter tasted like coconut essense rather than toasted coconut. Kolsch and Swan Lake Amber were both reasonable – the Kolsch being quite light, but good that it wasn’t sweet.

KuraKura is OK. I wouldn’t make my way here specially though – certainly not at the moment when, inexplicably, the walls inside seem to smell like poo. I hope that goes away.

KuraKura

KuraKura

The atmos was kind of stifling – like they’re trying to be a “high class” restaurant but with only so-so bar food (but maybe the food is because they’ve just moved location and they’re ironing out flaws) – and that, with the expensive small glasses, wasn’t my glass of beer.

We moved on to the 3rd place – Maltan.

Maltan

Maltan

Maltan was at the opposite end of the scale – very informal, everyone in there seemed either pissed as a fart, just out the office and thinking “ahh, finally, a beer”, or with their totty engaged in cheeky talk. After being in there for a few minutes, three people who had been in KuraKura ran in – literally exploding with freedom as if Dancing Queen had come on the stereo.

Maltan probably has the weakest selection of drafts – but not that bad. Before discovering places like Popeye, I would have loved here – especially with Nest White Ale on draft.

Beer - part 1

Beer - part 1

Beer - part 2

Beer - part 2

I can’t remember who made the guest beer – but it was a porter and pilsner. Pilsner was so so. Maltan’s own real stout wasn’t up to much either. W-IPA wasn’t as nice as I remember. And the fish and chips was probably the worst I’ve ever had in Tokyo.

BUT, I liked this place. It’s relaxed. They have a good bottle selection. I might not come here if I’m really wanting a hop-hit – but if I was in the area, this is probably the place I’d choose.

