Finally I found somewhere that still has Ruination on tap! Dry Dock in Shinbashi.

Don't you love a good threesome?

Don't you love a good threesome?

And from this angle:

Are you drooling yet?

Are you drooling yet?

Even with the bad iPhone photography – can’t believe I packed my camera without checking the battery! – don’t they look tasty?

But what are they?

The Stone Menu

The Stone Menu

On the left: Oaked Arrogant Bastard. Middle: Stone, Mikkeller, and Alesmith Collaboration Ale. And on the right: Ruination.

Oaked Arrogant Bastard was excellent at first – nice hopping and wine like oak flavour – but by the end of the half pint, I have to confess the oaking was a bit too much for me. GF liked it enough to order another one though. One for the ladies, perhaps.

The Collaboration Ale wasn’t bad – I’m not a big fan of Hoppy Belgians but this one was OK, not too strong Belgian influence, so I could enjoy the strong hopping. If I went to Aldgate or Vivo and this was their guest beer, I could quite happily down 5 or 6 glasses of this. But quite frankly, it was no competition for the Ruination. I downed several pints of it. I only hope that my Hops Of Mass Destruction 140+ IBU IPA comes out as good.

Dry Dock, Shinbashi

Dry Dock, Shinbashi

Dry Dock is a tiny little place – and a bugger to find, I got lost again – downstairs there is standing for about 12 people, upstairs seating for about 15. It may look big in the photo above, but it’s actually triangular, not square. I’ve been there once before, downstairs. This time I booked a table upstairs – highly recommended despite the 500yen per person charge.

No chance of taking a decent interior photo without a wide angle lens in Dry Dock

No chance of taking a decent interior photo without a wide angle lens in Dry Dock

If I ever buy that really wide angle lens I’m hankering after, Dry Dock would be an excellent place to try it.

The first time I visited Dry Dock I had a run-in with “Dock-master” Sato-san when my first pint was delivered with a 3cm head. He promptly deheaded it. A lovely Ballast Point IPA it was. Gorgeous pint. I still dream about it sometimes.

I thought he might have been a bit pissed off that I’d requested a “British Style” pour that first time, but later on we got chatting. He’s a cool guy, and I’ve had British Style pours ever since – look at the heads on the half pints above! This visit he came upstairs as we were about to taste the first beers and chatted to us. Seems that I got there just in time – Ruination is near the end of the keg!

I really like Dry Dock – it’s smoke free and they have some great beers there, on draft and in bottle. I’m always astounded that people go there and order Asahi Superdry. Makes me shudder at the thought. But then again, that only leaves more craft beer for me!

Chuwy: You need to update the times in Boozelist. It says DD is closed Saturday and Sunday. It’s actually close Sunday and the 3rd Saturday of the month.

Everyone: Apologies for the appalling iPhone photography.

