I’ve signed up for two monthly beer deliveries. Tonight the first one arrived, from Yonekyu (Gotemba Kogen and Mori-no-beer Brewery).

Cold beer delivery

Cold beer delivery

Inside, six 500ml bottles – this months, two Pilsners:

July's beers

July's beers

Notice that the bottles are dated:

Dated bottles

Dated bottles

Cool, eh? Nice touch. No buying these in the shops.

Also in the pack, an explanation of the beers:

Explanation sheet

Explanation sheet

And a recipe:

Recipe

Recipe

I didn’t think there was a recipe for nasu in Japan – every time I’ve had it in anything, it’s been deep fried to death! Vegetable don’t need to be fried, kids. You’re not Scottish!

Also included is a postage paid rating form. We too can be Wan Cup judges in our own homes!

Rating form

Rating form

Strangely, there’s no website for this Beer Hanpukai pack. I picked up a leaflet from the Ebisu beer festival a month or so ago. But there’s a number you can call if you’re interested: 0550-89-7611.

There are two options available. For 2500yen + 500yen delivery you get 6 bottles – two different beers. Alternatively for 3000yen + 500yen you can get 4 bottles and some food (sausage, ham). The beers and food varies month to month. The scheme runs from May to October and you can join at any time. The beers are made only to the quantity of the number of orders and can’t be bought in the shops.

Here’s the leaflet I picked up, minus the order form:

Beer Hanpukai - Front

Beer Hanpukai - Front

Back (click to enlarge)

Back (click to enlarge)

July & August (click to enlarge)

July & August (click to enlarge)

September & October (click to enlarge)

September & October (click to enlarge)

Apologies for the quality – I really should setup the scanner.

So what do they taste like?

The normal pils

The normal pils

Unsurprisingly the normal pils tastes like a normal Japanese pils – which means that although I find it a little sweet, others would be quite happy with it. Tasted similar to the Becken Pils I had at Ushi Tora the other night actually.

The unfiltered pils

The unfiltered pils

The unfiltered pils is better. I can drink this one and enjoy it, but I wish it was more bitter. That said, I’m a hard person to please when it comes to pilsner because unless it is really bitter like Pilsner Urquell or very Saazzy like my Don’t Mention The War Pilsner or both, it’s not going to set me alight.

So standard Japanese pilsners with few surprises. Next month becomes a bit more interesting with a dunkel, and then the following two months no more pilsners.

Maybe not the best of beers, but I really like this idea of getting random beers delivered monthly. More breweries should do this.

