Last night I decided to dry-hop Hops of Mass Destruction IPA. Before doing so I bottled 1L in PET bottles and took out a sample to take a hydrometer reading. I dry-hopped in the primary, as I always do. Here’s what 19L of wort with 66g of Centennial looks like:

66g of Centennial on 19L

66g of Centennial on 19L

Although it’s been 8 days, I suspect I might have dry-hopped a little early. The hydrometer sample gave me a reading of 1.019, and after putting back on the lid again, within an hour it was bulging, which means CO2 is still coming out.

Still at 1.019 after 8 days, I don’t think it’s doing to get past 1.017 tops. I’m not having much luck getting my IPAs down to a drier 1.012/1.014 – either I need to use more yeast, make starters, or aerate more – but this time, with a massive 140+ IBUs of bittering, it might actually be OK a little sweeter (sweetness and bittering balance each other out).

I’ve force carbed one of the PET bottles. Might try it tonight.

Sugary Tingly Belgian still tastes awful. From tasting awful from sugar, warming up fermentation temperature has resulted in it now tasting of banana. I decided, therefore, to play a little experiment.

200g Frozen Blueberries

200g Frozen Blueberries

I’ve always wanted to rack onto frozen fruit, to see whether it’s safe. Here are the blueberries in the secondary, before racking (transferring) the beer from the primary:

No, it doesn't look like rats poop!

No, it doesn't look like rats poop!

Stop the little yellow thing to stop the blueberries coming out the tap when racking? It’s the same thing (though a new one) I used for the Coconut Wheat.

If it all goes wrong, I’ll have proved to myself that you can’t just use frozen fruit as is – they will have been blueberries of mass beer destruction. If it all goes right, I’ll have Blueberry and Banana beer – oh yummy (!)

