At the end of the month drunken frat boy Jonno leaves Japan to head back to the glorious land of XXXX and Fosters. Since I’ll be at Fuji Rock this coming weekend and will miss his official sendoff, last night Chuwy, Beerkat, Chuck and I had an impromptu little gathering at my place (making it three days in a row of solid hardcode drinking – four if you include Friday night).

On the menu was the keg of Hops of Mass Destruction, the last of my Pilsner, some of my Kiuchi made beer, Kolsch and Alt from Awa Uzushio that I’d had delivered that day (Awa Uzushio closed its beer business last week; a shame because its beer was actually pretty good), several bottles contributed by the Beerkat, Jonno, and Chuck (thanks people!), Chuck’s latest homebrew (and excellent it was too considering it was made with LME yet didn’t have an LME taste), and some homebrew Chuwy stole rescued from being poured down the sink at the end of the Japan homebrewing ceremony on Sunday.

The last of the beer from Awa Uzushio

The last of the beer from Awa Uzushio

Ezo Beer Namara Nigai - aka Rogue's Brutal Bitter

Ezo Beer Namara Nigai - aka Rogue

Full Sail Nut Brown Ale

Full Sail Nut Brown Ale

Hakusekikan Dual Porter - rather funky this one; I suspect we had a bad bottle

Hakusekikan Dual Porter - rather funky this one; I suspect we had a bad bottle

Sankt Gallen 2008 el Diablo barley wine - not as bad as I remembered it to be

Sankt Gallen 2008 el Diablo barley wine - not as bad as I remembered it to be

A fair few bottles were consumed

A fair few bottles were consumed

The night ended with a couple of hours in Aldgate and Jonno downing a pint in 4 seconds to get his last train.

Jonno: Thanks to you I’m never going to be able to look at anyone wearing an eyepatch in the same way ever again. But despite that, you’re a star – and thank you very much for the bottle of Imperial Stout. I’ll look forward to cracking it open.

