Expect silence on the blog this weekend as tonight I’m hitting Fuji Rock. I’ll most likely get soaked as the weather isn’t looking good – but at least I’m staying in a hotel.

Last year the festival was awesome:

Festivals are very civilised in Japan compared to Britain - people even bring chairs!

Festivals are very civilised in Japan compared to Britain - people even bring chairs!

One of the smaller stages

One of the smaller stages

Another stage - there are quite a few

Another stage - there are quite a few

Kevin Shields of My Bloody Valentine

Kevin Shields of My Bloody Valentine

Last year My Bloody Valentine were the stars, and there was some pretty good bands on. This year there’s no-one special apart from Oasis, though I did see that Crying Nut from Korea are doing Fuji Rock this year.

Surprisingly for a festival, there are a couple of non-generic beer options. Of course there’s Heineken too if I want a really tasty beer (yeah, right!) From last year’s photos:

Tsukiyono Craft Beer

Tsukiyono Craft Beer

Echigo Beer

Echigo Beer

Tokyo Ale

Tokyo Ale

Sharps Doom Bar

Sharps Doom Bar

Abbot Ale

Abbot Ale

Not that I can remember what most of those taste like – I didn’t even keep simple records, unlike the girl I met who was recording on her arm how many beers she was drinking.

Six beers by 3pm - lightweight!

Six beers by 3pm - lightweight!

I do remember having the best pizza I’ve ever had in Japan though – made with a wood burning oven. Hope they are back this year.

Lovely pizza

Lovely pizza

If I can get a signal on Softbank I may post some twitters or even a blog update – but Softbank being Softbank and beer being freely available, it most likely there will be silence for a few days.

Let’s hope it doesn’t rain!

Yip, I've packed a raincoat. Don't have any wellies though.

Yip, I've packed a raincoat. Don't have any wellies though.

