Mudfest at Fuji Rock

Mudfest at Fuji Rock

I survived the mud and the rain yesterday – and it got a lot worse than the photo above – to the end to see Oasis and find out Liam sings like a drunk guy at karaoke. Still, the actual music was superb, and I learnt to shield Liam out half way through the concert. Surprising star of the day was The Doves though.

Today is sunny and there’s nothing good on until Dinosaur Jr and Franz at 8ish, so I’ll venture out past the main stage to the smaller stage in search of craft beers. Yesterday was a rather nonplussing selection of Echigo Pilsner (in one bar this tasted excellent but in others tasted metallic; it actually has a mild white beer taste and I thought it was their Wiezen for a while), Nihonkai Sunset Pils (one bar only, tasted almost sour), Guinness (one bar only), Nigata beer (one bar only, tastes metalic and so bad that I threw it away) and Echigo Weizen (again, one bar only and some strange bug finished off the end of mine). In a lot of the places the beer tastes strange (as noted) but I have had variable quality of the same beer I think it is beer server condition rather than the beers themselves. Hotel beers were better, being my beer and Echigo Stout and Pilsner in cans. Nice stout that, Pilsner too is drinkable for Japanese Pils as long as you don’t need to drink it all day.

Let’s hope it stays sunny today!

