Five to go

Five to go

A visit to Tanakaya supplied an hour of street drinking before Frat boy Jonno left Tokyo. Surprisingly the Islander IPA was the best of the bunch – it’s pretty similar to Racer 5, but that’s no bad thing. The unearthly had the most interesting malt body but a little lacking in the hop flavour department.

From the 123bus.net bus stop to a little Izakaya I know that serves Ginga Kogen white beer on draft, then onto Frigo, Shinjuku. First time I’ve been there actually, but I used to frequent the sister bar Belgo in Shibuya a lot. I prefer Belgo – they have (or at least, they used to have) a good range of hard to find British ales, but I didn’t see anything British at Frigo.

Three to stay

Three to stay

Alvinne Gasper, Weltenburger Kloster Barock Dunkel (draft), and Reinaert Tripel. Nice beer the Gasper – caramel sweet and no overpowering Belgian flavour from the yeast. The Reinaert was more traditionally Belgian – and the Dunkel, well, after tasting the other two, it didn’t leave a memorable impression. A quick Weltenburger Kloster Pils as a chaser (also draft) and it was home to try the Titan IPA and Yeti Imperial Stout.

Last time I had the Titan it was at an outdoor event and rather warm and underwhelming, but last night I quite enjoyed it. A touch of caramel with some nice hops to back it up – I’m glad I took the risk on a few bottles.

The Yeti, on the other hand, was disappointing. On draft it was quite nice, but in bottles it was rather rough – maybe there’s a hint of smoked grain in there, I don’t know. Perhaps it will grow on me – I hope so since I have 5 more bottles.

Today I’ll finish off the recipe for Axis of Evil IPA – hopefully I’ll get to brew it tomorrow if the gear all fits together smoothly.

