30g of Amarillo and 23g of Simcoe on Axis of Evil

30g of Amarillo and 23g of Simcoe on Axis of Evil

Finally got around to dryhopping Axis of Evil IPA last night – with 30g of Amarillo and 23g of Simcoe. Took another hydrometer sample while I was at it – 1.012, so it looks like mashing at a lower temperature worked.

The beer tastes a bit too smooth to me though, almost like I’m drinking orange juice but with a bitter kick at the end. I’m not sure whether some of that smoothness is coming from the carahell (ie, an attribute of carahell) or whether it’s because there’s just a tad too little crystal (ie, I overestimated the effect that the carahell would have on sweetness and flavour and reduced the crystal too much) – what it does leave though is a beer which is primarily flavoured from the hops, hence the fruity taste and strong bitterness.

I’m hoping that the 5-6 days of dry hopping will add some hop oils into the mix and give the beer a bit of bite.

