…does the purchasing ever end?

Portable beer server

Portable beer server

A portable beer server. About half the size of a 5G keg and using no electricity – fill it with ice, connect to a keg, and you’ve got chilled beer… anywhere.

Inside

Inside

A bit more expensive that I’d like to have paid – but it’s new, not second hand. And for a new unit, the price was good – I’ve seen people pay more for these second hand than I paid new…

Regulator, Asahi coupler, pipes, etc...

Regulator, Asahi coupler, pipes, etc...

…and it comes with a brand new regulator and Asahi coupler (which fits all Japanese craft beer kegs). I could potentially sell those on for more than 10,000 yen for the two of them – though actually I’m unlikely to be bothered to do so unless someone I know wants to buy them.

Of course for true portability, I really need a mini-gas adapter and mini-gas cannister – around 7000 yen for the pair – so I don’t need to lug around a large CO2 tank. But whether I’ll buy those, I’m not sure. My main reason for getting this is that it uses no electricity – which means that if I do move overseas, I’ll be able to take this with me. I wouldn’t be able to take the mini-gas stuff with me, so I might hold off buying it.

The purchasing stops here. Honest. Unless I need to use this in the park, then I’ll get a mini-gas adapter and cannister – but then it stops. Really.

