I have new found sympathy for British Rail.

I was having a perfect brew day and suddenly when I go to pump the wort through the plate chiller I get no flow for about 30 seconds then this happens:

Hops in the line

Hops in the line

My hop protection must have fallen out.

Hop protection

Hop protection

No change of cooling in the sink with 23L or so of wort. I should probably leave it to cool at room temp, but instead I’m trickling it down to the primary and once it’s all moved, I’ll stick it in the fridge to cool.

Helios Goya Dry from Okinawa

Helios Goya Dry from Okinawa

A couple of beers to relax…

K's Brewing Company - The Brewmaster Fukuoka Blonde Dry

K's Brewing Company - The Brewmaster Fukuoka Blonde Dry

…and then I better clean up.

Nice beers these actually: Helios is dry, not so bitter, and has good flavour (not what I expected from a beer made with goya, a bitter Japanese vegetable); K’s Blonde Dry is lovely and dry with almost a honey aftertaste.

Not just nice – damn good beers actually. Wish I had more bottles of them both. Looks like Helios have a pub in Okinawa also – I’ve been wanting to go to Okinawa for a while, now I have a beer reason to go there it might actually happen!

Beer is a repeast of #18: Don’t Mention The War Pilsner. Full details some other time – need to clean up now.

Just had a Cabos & Honey also – bitter and very sweet; OK but don’t think I couldn’t drink a lot. The lady likes it though.

