It’s common to combine toasted coconut with a porter but I have been wanting to try it with something lighter for a while.

A few weeks back I bought two cans of Black Rock Export Pilsner. One I used already and – sadly, but as expected – it has a bit if a sugar twang to it.

Rather than ditch the second can or waste good hops on it, I’ve decided to experiment with it. I’ve taken the second can and fermented it by itself (13L, no extra malt or hops) with the plan to add coconut at the end – the hope being that the unsweetened toasted coconut will offset the sugar twang.

Today I added the coconut.

It will probably all end in something horribly undrinkable but hopefully only because it’s based on a Black Rock kit rather than because coconut doesn’t work in lighter beers.

20140422-210455.jpg

