Here it is. 604. Baby Ruin. Maris Otter, Vienna, Carared base. Magnum bittering. Centennial flavour, aroma, whirlpool, dry hopping. 5.1% – sorry, I mean 0.51%. 55 IBU. Exploded over the ceiling while brewing. 

It’s not the best beer I’ve made, but it’s drinkable. There’s something missing which I can’t quite put my finger on. It’s missing a richness. It’s a Disney beer. Relatively shallow and inoffensive. But I want a Warner Brothers beer. A kick-ass Wile E Coyote & Roadrunner of a beer. A beer with a bit more edge. 

It could be that I’m finding the Centennial a bit one dimensional after so long blending multiple hops. 

It could also be that a higher and richer alcohol level would work better with the Centennial, giving some missing depth. 

It could also be that as 60+% of the bittering comes from the Centennial additions, it’s just not giving me the sharp bitterness or citrus bitterness I want. I remember having that experience with Centennial in the past. 

It could also be that the Z isn’t generating the promised IBU. 

I don’t know. But I won’t be making this exact recipe again. 


602 Pale Lager and 603 Pils are both lagering away in the kegerator. They both came out a lot drier and a lot “fruitier” than I expected. The Pale has also come out quite seems devoid of and “pale ale recipe” and dry-hop influence. 

I’m hoping all is not lost and some time lagering will clean up the fruitiness.  I had read that W34/70 is a clean fermenting yeast, but perhaps 15 degrees was a bit too high. On the plus side they have no diacetyl – fermenting 20-ish for the last few points cleaned that up. 

Next beer is currently on hold as I have no space for any more beer until I empty a keg! In the meantime I’ve been looking into the foaming and have come up with a few ideas to try on the next brew. More in a future post. 

Edit: After sampling another beer I made, I’m convinced it’s the lack of other hops to complement the Centennial at this alcohol level. 

  

